Brand Inspection Required in Colorado 2017-03-02T23:04:55+00:00

Brand Inspection Required in Colorado

Equine Buyers Be Aware

  • In Colorado, a brand inspection is required for the sale (change of ownership) or movement of a horse, mule or donkey over 75 miles. This applies even if the previous owner did not comply with the law to obtain the equine.
  • The law applies regardless if you buy on Craigslist, from a breeder, a broker or a rescue.
  • Inspection is required regardless of whether the animal is branded or not branded.
  • It is the obligation of the SELLER of the equine to provide the brand inspection to the buyer.
  • Effective January 1, 2015, the brand inspection fee for donkeys is $37 per donkey.

To find the Brand Inspector for your area, please see the Colorado Department of Agriculture’s Brand Inspection Areas/Districts

Relevant Colorado Revised Statutes (Colorado Laws)
1 An inspection is required every time an animal is sold or purchased (horses, cattle, mules and donkeys) or when any change of ownership occurs, regardless of whether or not the animal is transported after or prior to the sale. 35-53-105
2 An inspection is required when livestock is to be transported over 75 miles totally within the boundaries of Colorado (some exceptions). 35-53-105
3 An inspection is required every time livestock leave the state regardless of circumstances. 35-53-105
4 Any time livestock is to be transported on a public road, proof of ownership of the stock being transported must be available for inspection by the Colorado State Patrol, local law enforcement or a livestock inspector. If the animal carries your Colorado brand, this can be your proof of ownership. Failure to show proof of title is a misdemeanor! 35-53-117
5 Any livestock crossing a state line must be accompanied by a current health certificate. Contact your local veterinarian or the state veterinarian’s office for specific information.
*** Failure to comply with Colorado Livestock Law is at least a Class I misdemeanor and may be a felony. $250.00 minimum fine and/or up to 90 days jail time for the first offense. 35-53-112